mfterew.blogg.se

Beersmith mash efficiency
Beersmith mash efficiency












beersmith mash efficiency

Larger grain bills, all else being equal, will have lower mash efficiency. Your mash efficiency is going to vary depending on a ton of factors, but mostly due to your recipe, ratio of first runnings to second runnings, and total water needed to grain bill.

beersmith mash efficiency

Some of the past posts have stated they get a "constant efficiency" This is just not realistic and is a mathematical impossibility. I can get in the 88-90% range if I want to, but the amount of time to do so isn't worth the effort in my opinion. I'm usually in the 83-85% range for mash efficiency for moderate beers depending on my recipe, and sparging method/process. The "brewhouse efficiency" or "fermenter efficiency" is often times what folks refer to when they mentioned numbers like 65-85% effciency, but not always. If you are not then you may be leaving behind significant sugars, using too coarse of crush, or not converting the starches completely. Īs for "mash efficiency", you should be seeing levels at or greater than about 90%. If you find higher or lower then expected mash efficiency then you can expect the same out of your brewhouse efficiency and make on-the-fly adjustments to your hop schedule to account for the increased/reduced gravity or, you may find yourself figuring out what kind of sugar source to add so that your beer still ends up about where you hoped. It also provides you the first point of reflection on how your brewday is going before you ever get to the end. It's a good thing to know what you're going for and what you're getting because it allows you to have a predictable brewday and finished product. They allow me both to gauge my success of the brewday as well as keep my beer balanced to the levels I'm aiming for. Click to expand.Like Gavin C, I also target specific numbers during the brewday.














Beersmith mash efficiency